Allegheny County Council 436 Grant Street, Room 119 Pittsburgh, PA 15219 Phone: 412-350-6490 **Meeting Minutes - Approved** Thursday, August 25, 2022 4:00 PM **Conference Room 1 Special Committee on IPRB Board Applicants** Paul Klein, Chair, Olivia Bennett, Patrick Catena, Tom Duerr, Anita Prizio and DeWitt Walton, Members

I. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 4:03 pm.

II. Roll Call

Members Present: 5 - DeWitt Walton, Tom Duerr, Anita Prizio, Patrick Catena and Paul Klein

Members Absent: 1 - Olivia Bennett

IV. Agenda Items

Appointments

After interviewing each candidate, each committee member provided a ranked list of their top four nominees, as follows:

Ms. Bennett ranked Mr. Murphy first, Mr. Garland second, Mr. Pearl third, and Ms. Banaszak fourth.

Mr. Catena ranked Mr. Murphy first, Mr. Garland second, Mr. Pearl third, and Mr. Mayernik fourth.

Mr. Duerr ranked Mr. Murphy first, Mr. Mayernik second, Mr. Garland third, and Ms. Banaszak fourth.

Ms. Prizio ranked Mr. Pearl first, Mr. Murphy second, Mr. Garland third, and Ms. Banaszak fourth.

Mr. Walton ranked Mr. Murphy first, Mr. Mayernik second, Mr. Garland third, and Ms. Banaszak fourth.

Chairman Klein ranked Mr. Murphy first, Mr. Pearl second, Mr. Garland third, and Ms. Banaszak fourth.

The committee agreed that Mr. Murphy had received the highest average ranking, Mr. Garland the second highest, and Mr. Pearl the third highest.

The committee acknowledged and discussed that Ms. Banaszak appeared on five of the six committee members ranked lists, while Mr. Mayernik appeared on three, but was ranked more highly by those three committee members.

The committee then voted on whether to select Ms. Banaszak or Mr. Mayernik as the fourth nominee. This vote resulted in a tie, with Ms. Bennett, Ms. Prizio and the Chair voting in favor of Ms. Banaszak, and Mr. Catena, Mr. Duerr and Mr. Walton voting in favor of Mr. Mayernik.

After additional discussion, Mr. Catena moved to advance Mr. Murphy to the full Council for a term of four years, Mr. Garland for a term of three years, Mr. Pearl for a term of two years, and Ms. Banaszak for a term of one year, and the committee voted unanimously in favor of doing so.

Mr. Duerr moved to recommend to the Chief Executive that *Mr.* Mayernik be named as the Council and Executive's joint appointment to the Board, *Ms.* Bennett seconded, and the committee voted unanimously in favor of doing so.

Ms. Bennett and *Mr.* Walton withdrew the existing nominations for all candidates that appeared before the committee, in order to allow for the introduction of the four approved nominations by the full committee at the August 30 regular meeting of Council.

<u>12237-22</u>	Approving the appointment of Lynn Banaszak to the Independent Police Review Board.
<u>Sponsors:</u>	Council Member Bennett
	A motion was made that this matter be Withdrawn. The motion carried by a unanimous vote.
<u>12240-22</u>	Approving the appointment of Richard Garland to the Independent Police Review Board.
<u>Sponsors:</u>	Council Member Bennett
	A motion was made that this matter be Withdrawn. The motion carried by a unanimous vote.
<u>12242-22</u>	Approving the appointment of David Mayernik to the Independent Police Review Board.
<u>Sponsors:</u>	Council Member Walton
	A motion was made that this matter be Withdrawn. The motion carried by a unanimous vote.
<u>12244-22</u>	Approving the appointment of Keith Murphy to the Independent Police Review Board.
<u>Sponsors:</u>	Council Member Walton
	A motion was made that this matter be Withdrawn. The motion carried by a unanimous vote.
<u>12274-22</u>	Approving the appointment of Justin Leavitt Pearl to the Independent Police Review Board.
<u>Sponsors:</u>	Council Member Bennett
	A motion was made that this matter be Withdrawn. The motion carried by a unanimous vote.

V. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 6:20pm.